LISS days

Part of Round 1 (1st set of 12 weeks) of BBG consists of 3 LISS days per week.  LISS:Low Intensity Steady State. I play it safe. When I started BBG I didn’t want to overwhelm myself mentally or physically… I didn’t want to bite of more than I could chew. So, I chose to keep it simple: walking at an incline. I continue to increase my incline each week to push myself. When I first started, but I set my incline to 3%. Now that I am 8 weeks into the program, I set my incline to 11.5%. My goal is to reach 15% incline by the end of my first 12-weeks.

Some other simple examples of LISS are jogging, biking, and swimming. To learn more about the importance of LISS days, check out Kayla Itsines blog about LISS here.

Do you LISS regularly? What is your preferred low intensity exercise?

13 thoughts on “LISS days

Add yours

  1. Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us. I enjoyed reading about your progress towards your goal. It must feel good to see how far you’ve come and how close to your goal you are. 🙂 Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always have to remind myself that going slow but being able to keep at it is better than trying to push it too much and then hurting myself. I’m not a runner by any means, but sometimes when I am just walking walking walking on my treadmill, I feel the need to get into a jog. But that’s just a bad idea for me. So I have to remember to just keep it safe!

    -Natalie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Jogging is a LISS activity. If you start to incorporate intervals of sprinting I have learned it is then considered a HIIT exercise! (PS you commenting just now pushed me to finish my writing for the day. Thanks, Dana!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

